WSC wins Fastski Trophy

In the past 50 years, the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club has won the Rocky Mountain Division's Fastski Trophy eight times.

For the past three years, Alpine director Tony Nunnikhoven has been focused on bringing the 3-foot-high trophy back to the Yampa Valley.

"I've wanted to win this trophy since the first time I saw it," Nunnikhoven said. "It's been awarded to a single club each year since 1953."

Nunnikhoven and the members of the club's Alpine team learned this week at the Rocky Mountain Division's 2003 Awards Luncheon that they had won the trophy for the first time in four years.

The award was the biggest for the club during the luncheon, held at the Beaver Run Resort in Breckenridge on Sunday.

"We've been close the last two years," Nunnikhoven said. "We had a phenomenal year last year, and that's what it takes to win this trophy."

Since 1953, the trophy has only been awarded to four different clubs. Steamboat, Ski Club Vail, Aspen and the University of Colorado have all had a chance to keep the trophy for at least one year.

Bringing it back to Steamboat was a big deal for Nunnikhoven, who took over as the Winter Sports Club's Alpine director three years ago.

"This award encompasses every age group within a club's Alpine program," Nunnikhoven said. "Every racer from age class to the older kids had a part in bringing this trophy to Steamboat. That's pretty special."

Every RMD Alpine racer collects points for top 10 finishes during division races in the course of the season. The club accumulating the most points at the end of the season wins.

"You really have to credit the hard-working, focused athletes of our Alpine program and all the coaches in this coaching staff," Winter Sports Club Executive Director Rick DeVos said.

The honor was just one of several the club collected at the annual banquet. Steamboat's Tina Roberts won the Governor's Cup, awarded to the male and female racers who score the best during the course of the season.

Special jumper Logan Garber and Nordic combined skier Bryan Fetcher won the Bookstrom Award, which goes to the top Nordic competitors in the RMD who are not members of the U.S. Ski Team. The same two skiers won last year.

Not to be out done, freestyle skiers Jordan Chiovarilli and Eliza Outtrim won the Andy Wise Award. The award is given to the top skiers in the division who are not members of the U.S. Ski Team.

Community comments

Note: The Steamboat Pilot & Today doesn’t necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy.

Post a comment (Requires free registration)

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.